The first step

Description of your first forum.

Moderator: youngj

The first step

Postby DavidM » Thu May 03, 2012 3:54 pm

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to take a quick moment to say hello and introduce myself. I'm writing in from Jacksonville, Florida, USA. I just recently decided to give this foreign relationship thing a try. I think I like this setup here because it's not a mailorder bride kind of thing, but meeting real people and building your own relationships.

Here's my experience so far. I'm just getting started and completely new. I stumbled on the site while doing research and saw the listings. I was amazed at the huge selection and even more at the quality of selection. I just don't find this type of family and moral mindset with most people from where I'm at.

I write software for a living, so in 20 minutes I was able to put together something that would narrow down the 293 pages of selections to just the age range I was looking for into a Word document and have everything at my fingertips. I made some selections and emailed for the contact info. I was again surprised that they only list a street address and no email or anything.

I've never sent any letters or packages outside of work to a foreign address. Does anyone have any tips on this? I figured I would make my introduction by hand-writing the letter and give an intro about me along with a couple of good pictures. I guess I will see how it goes and what happens.
DavidM

Re: The first step

Postby jadegil6 » Thu May 03, 2012 6:43 pm

In my experiences I have about a 90% success rate of getting the letters to the receiver, but if there is any cash in the envelope (for internet or a return letter), then many of those letters are opened before they reach the recipient, and the money gets taken....usually the letter still gets delivered. Letters do make more of an impact than an email.